Monday, May 29, 2006

London Weekend Twelve / Windsor and Isle of Wight

This weekend was quite a whirlwind!! On Friday I took the day off. Kari (my sister), Jarrod (her hubby) and Mat were all in town so we went to Windsor Castle. It was amazing! Great audio tour and fabulous castle. It's the Queens weekend home so it's still in working order and really well done. We had lunch there in Windsor and it was so cute!

We headed back into town and made a short stop over in Greenwich. Kari and Jarrod wanted to see it and I am always keen to go back since it's such a cute town. We took a boat ride back into the city and went under the Tower Bridge which was really fun.


We all ate such good food all week. Kari and Jarrod tried Thai, French and Indian food so it was a nice change for them!

On Saturday, Kari/Jarrod left to go home (boo) and Mat and I "jetted" down to the Isle of Wight. It was a train ride, ferry ride, tube ride, then bus ride just to get there. We got a great seafood lunch and did some hiking. The bed and breakfast served us a great dinner and breakfast. Sunday we backed up and went to another city for horseback riding! It was alot of fun seeing the island in this way. Today Mat is off to a horse racing track while I am at working (boo). But hopefully we will round out the holiday weekend with a great dinner before Mat heads home tomorrow.

He will be back for Jose and Pavan's wedding but not till the end of July. Next up is my friend Angel Harper who is coming next week!! Hurray!!

To see pictures...go to this address
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.2cu4suu9&x=1&y=hlpfx5

London Weekend Eleven / Paris

Soooooooooo, I know it's Thursday but I am finally able to sit down and write. Hope you all had a fabulous weekend.

Paris was a great time. As you saw from the pictures we were able to hit sooo many things while we were there. 3 or 4 days is perfect for a stay in Paris. It rained a little (15 mins or so) everyday but then the sun came out and it was great. The only time it was really awful was on top of the Eiffel tower. But that's okay. We made the most of it. My favorite thing was the Arc de Triomphe which you could probably tell from all the pictures I took from it. It was just gorgeous and really very amazing. We climbed and climbed up many staircases to get to the top but it was always worth it. Notra Dame was soooo beautiful...eveything was so great!!

It's been crappy weather here all week but Kari and Jarrod are making the most if it. They are hitting all the biggest tourist attractions and having a ball. They leave Saturday afternoon.

Mat just got in town this morning so he, kari/jarrod and I are going to do something fun tomorrow. I have the day off :-) Then Mat and I are trying to plan something fun for the weekend. Maybe go somewhere, maybe won't go anywhere.

Best news of the week: other than my family all being here...I just found out the superstars in my neighborhood. Kate Moss, Jude and his girlfriend, Gwyneth/Apple/Moses/Chris, Helen bonham Carter and Rupert Everett! I need to put on my celebrity sighting glasses! Keep you updated!

Can you believe that I have almost been here for 3 months!!! It will all be 1/2 over on June 10. Yikes!! They have named the next person, Charles (aka Chuck G) so that means I am getting da boot!

To see pictures, go to this address...
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.6ul56igx&x=1&y=f5q88c

London Weekend Ten / Hampton Court Palace

So this past weekend was really great. Friday night I went out with all my co-workers to a bar for a going away party for my boss Kim. It was a great time, open bar, yahoo! Then I went over to another section of the city to meet some more people. One of my friends' fiance was in town and she wanted us all to meet him. It was lots of fun! Little tipsy on the train ride home but it makes the tube seems like a adventure ride at cedar point!

Anyway, Saturday I got up and took a train to Hampton Court Palace. It was very big and really gorgeous. Lots of gardens, huge castle/palace. I think 3 different kings regained there and it has structures from all three kings. It was great. I literally spent all day there.

Sunday I got up and regrettably watch 3 hours of maternity ward!!! What was I thinking!!! I still say it's the best birth control...Nasty!! Anyway, after I pulled myself from the tube (or tellie), I met friends Wynne and Maria in Hampstead Park for a picnic! I brought my non-award winning salsa and it was a total hit. Maria's boyfriend Marshall goes to the London Business School so he had all of his school buddies there. It was great. We ate lots of good food and LOTS of wine. We played cards, frisbee, etc. Fun times and no rain!

Last night, my friend Pamela and I went to see the Bodies exhibit. Has anyone seen or heard of this? Pretty controversial but really really amazing. You can see a bit of it here... http://www.bodiestheexhibition.com/. Basically there are 22 whole human bodies and 260 assorted organs and body parts on display. They are conserved in some sort of finish so they are not gross but really very clear. It's pretty amazing. There is another exhibit in Atlanta at the Atlanta Civic Center if you are interested.

Training is going well. Still trying to get 2 swim's in per week. Running and then we started to try to bike this week. Riding on the other side of the road is quite scary!!!

Best news of the week: Other than Kari and Jarrod are leaving tonight and arriving tomorrow...I got a food processor!! It's making my life so much better. MMMmmm, salsa every week!

To see pictures, go to this address...
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.auy853wx&x=1&y=-k7gsy3

London Weekend Nine / Oxford and Blenhiem

So last weekend...
Friday I went for friends with my friend Wynne. somehow I keep going out with them on the first Friday of every month and it totally works out for me! It's called "First Friday's" and their company gives them the company credit card and they all go drink! I always get invited and drink for free! Anyhoo, it was lots of fun. Lots of smoking (cough cough) but fun.

Saturday I met a friend from work, Pamela, and we went to Oxford for the day. Basically Oxford is a college town. It's got like 39 little campuses around the town. All bordered with these great medieval looking walls. It was "degree day" so I couldn't get into most of the colleges. Each have a porter at the door and you have to paid admission to get in or show your student id. Only one college was open so we went in there. Each one is really quaint and very very pretty. But the main reason we went was to see Blenheim Palace. So we took a bus to Woodstock and when there. It was the birthplace of Winston Churchill. It was kinda interesting cause the Duke of Marlborough lives there now but someone in his family married a Vanderbilt so you could see the US connection. And the Biltmore was owned by the Vanderbilt's...blah blah. Pretty cool. Great tour. Very beautiful.


Yep, that is little me standing in front of this huge place. Look closely!

I got back and my friend Wynne and her flatmates were having a "girls night". So I went over there and we had wine and cheese and lots of pizza. It was sooo good. We watched "How to lose a guy" and "About a boy". It was lots of fun. I am really getting to know all of Wynne's friends and one is planning a wedding. So I brought her all my wedding magazines and she loved them. Ahhh, American magazines are the best!

I took pictures of this weekend but got a new computer and I need a card reader. Kari and Jarrod are bringing one when they come to visit. Pictures to come soon!

Sunday I left Wynne's, got ready and we when to Spitafields Market. A great open shopping market open on the weekends. I bought my mom and sister Mother's day gifts. Later than evening....We planned a surprise dinner for our boss, Kim (a dude). He is t he main cheese here at the desk and is going to be the Johannesburg buro chief. So Robin, his wife and anchor at CNNI, came to dinner and we totally surprises him. There was about 10 of us there. We had lots and lots of wine. Great English food and then more wine. I was quite tipsy but found my way back home on the bus. I was kinda worried cause they are all adults and "grown-ups". I was kinda worried I wouldn't have much to talk about but I did. And in the middle of it all, Kim and his wife announced they were pregnant so that was lots of fun. Blah Blah Blah, it was really fun.

This week was kinda stressful with work but only one more week till my family comes. Kari and Jarrod come a week from today.

Most exciting news: Kari, Jarrod and Mat will all be here at the same time. How fun!
Saddest news: A bit homesick for little Chloe. She calls me and we chat. She mostly babbles on. She can spell her name and it's so cute! She is soooo excited about school.

No wedding crap to report. Mat is in Florida for a wedding this weekend. Kinda bummed that I missed my co-worker Jen's wedding last weekend and now this on in Florida. Hopefully Mat will take some pictures. On the plus side, Mat is losing crazy amounts of weight! He is working out like every single day (even on the weekends) and is super proud! He looked alot more healthy when he was here last and now he has lots even more weight! He has inspired me to kick up my training for the triathlon so I swam twice this week. And went running twice this week in addition to my 45 min powerwalks to work. Yahoo!

So this weekend...
Tonight I am going on for drinks with the entire London buro. Like I said, the main cheese here is going to be the Johannesburg buro chief. So we are all getting drink and whooping it up tonight. Also the other friend (not from work) has her fiance in town and she wants us all to meet him. Decisions Decisions!
Saturday my plan is to go to Hampton Court Palace
Sunday my plan is to go to a cookout, hosted by my friend Maria, in Hampstead Park. Did you know that you can't grill in a public park here?? What a travesty! Quite a random rule and I will find out more about it this weekend.

Hope you all have a nice weekend!!

To see pictures, go to this address...
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.2r8518ep&x=1&y=-lond2w

London Weekend Eight / Dover and Leeds Castle

On Friday night I went to see Mary Poppins at the theater. It was wonderful!! The sets were amazing and the acting was so great!

On Saturday I got up early and went for a day trip to Dover. I met some friends on the train and hiked with them along the White Cliffs of Dover. I hiked for a good portion of the day but then turned around once it looked like it might rain. I went up to Dover Castle. Not the prettiest castle ever but it had so much history which was nice.

On Sunday I made another day trip to Leeds Castle. Must more picturesque that Dover Castle. The castle had been lived in in the 1950's or so it was really updated. The castle had a great audio tour and the castle grounds where fabulous.

To see pictures, go to this address...
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.281td5ah&x=1&y=-u3nnfd

London Weekend Seven / Nice


Hello kids!! Do I look tanner to you? Hahaha, just kidding but I am a little burnt. Leave it to me to not bring any sunscreen on my trip to the sunny south of France. Mat just left to head back to the airport. I can't believe I brought my camera to work, but forgot the cord to upload the pictures. Will do it tomorrow for sure.

We had such a wonderful time. It's a really beautiful place and I would suggest you guys go!! We flew Easyjet which was really nice. We headed to Aéroport Nice Côte d'Azur and when we landed it was sunny and it never stopped! We got there Friday morning. We took a bus to the hotel but missed our stop (everything was in French!). But we ended up walking back to our hotel through Old Town Nice or Vieux Nice. It was really cute, little streets, lots of outdoor cafes, etc etc. We walked along the water and got to our hotel which was really nice and centrally located. We dropped our bags off, grabbed a map and started exploring.

Our hotel was right along the Le Cours Saleya. Every morning (except Mondays which is an antiques market) it's a fruit and vegetable market and, throughout the day, the famous flower market. Lots of restaurants align on either side. Big crowds in the mornings, everyone getting their food for the day or for the week. Lots and lots of veggies, fruits, fresh fish, olive oil, spices, flower flowers and more flowers. It was really lovely.

Next we wandered up le Parc du Château. There used to be a castle here that overlooked the port and harbour. It was a fabulous 200-step climb straight up with great views of Nice's shoreline and Old Town. It was a beautiful park at the top with grassy areas, playgrounds, waterfalls and ancient Roman ruins. It was really amazing.

Next we walked along the water and decided to take a little dip. There is not much of a "beach". It's very rocky and no sand in sight. But the people of Nice didn't really care. Oh yeah, it's topless as well so that was interesting!! We grabbed our towels and lay on the beach, took a nap, tried not to stare at the topless old ladies! The water was FREEZING cold so we just stuck our feet in for like 2.2 seconds but it was still nice to be in the Mediterranean Sea!

After a quick shower we grabbed a freshly baked beget and a hunk of cheese from La Paulette (a local cheese guy) and went to a great spot to watch the sunset. We walked along to the port side and saw all the big boats and yachts. The rest of the night we didn't do much but eat really good food and drink really good wine.

Saturday we got an assortment of French pastries and headed for the train station. We took a short 15-20 min train ride to Monaco. The train went right along the water the entire time. It was some amazing views. We walked all around Monaco till our legs were going to fall off. It was a cute little city with expensive taste!! Lots of hot cars, driving really fast, lots of fancy people all dressed up, casinos, Prada, yachts bigger yachts and even bigger yachts, etc etc. They were getting ready for the Monaco Grand Prix in May. We hiked up to the Prince's Palace and wonder around there. Lots of pretty views. After spending most of the day in Monaco, we headed back to Nice. I dragged a tired Mat to some Russian cathedral that we couldn't even go in. It was pretty but we were so tired. Went back for a nap.

Earlier that day we had found that the Nice football/soccer team was in one of the final games in the World Cup playoffs. They were showing the game, on a huge TV in the middle of Place Massena, in the middle of town. All the cars and scooters were driving around honking and waving flags. So Mat HAD to buy a Nice soccer jersey and flag. We went and ate dinner then went and joined in the soccer party. It was CRAZY!! The crowd went crazy when the team scored a goal. Setting off fireworks and flares. The team scored two more goals but they were called back and Nice eventually lost. We got some wine and went to the beach. Too bad someone (me) bought wine that needed a CORKSCREW! So it took some major work to get it open but we eventually did. It was a really fun day.

Sunday was the Nice Marathon. We had seen them preparing all weekend long in the park across from our hotel. They ran right below out hotel so that was fun. After another French pastry filled breakfast we just walked around getting souvenirs for family and friends. We finally got to eat Socca (a delicious chickpea crepe served warm) and Pan Bagnet (a sandwich with tuna), two foods usually found in the south of France.

The flight home was nice as well but we flew into Standsted which is alot father than Luton airport but still nice. All and all it was a great trip. We survived without knowing a lick of French, just a book with some key words. We learned what we could and I think we got along quite well!

To see pictures go to http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.86xpt8pl&x=1&y=-k2x4p3

London Weekend Six / Easter

This weekend was a nice weekend. Went to another dinner party on Friday night. Different group of ladies from work so it was really nice. Saturday I clean house and watched lots of movies on TV. That night I went to dinner and a saw "Fame" with two girls from work. It was lots of fun. We are hoping to see "Mary Poppins" next.

Sunday I got up earlier and when to St. Paul's Cathedral for Easter service. It was so nice and I got there early and sat under the dome. It was really really nice. The rest of the day I sat around, made my food for the week, made lunch and dinner and slept. Apparently I was really tired cause I fell asleep in the afternoon, ate and fell asleep again. Moved into my bed later that night and slept all night long. Guess I was tired!!

Good news of the week: Mat gets here early Thursday morning. We leave for Nice on Friday morning. Can't wait for that!

Bad news of the week: I dropped my camera and the screen on the back broke. I am totally upset but at least it still takes pictures (I think). Mom and Dad sent one of their cameras to Mat to bring along with him. I am totally bummed that I might have to get a new one!! Getting it fixed maybe more than it would cost to get a new one.

To see pictures go to http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.441nuwu1&x=1&y=wsmk0w

London Weekend Five / Mike and Lauren 2

Good morning!! Okay, so I am totally excited this morning. Prince Harry is graduating from the military academy and we are live from that location. All of this means that I get to watch Harry graduate and be all dressed up in uniform. He is such a cutie!! Willy Will is there too in uniform. The Queen, Prince Charles, Camila and all the family is in attendance. It's really exciting to know that I am right down the street! Everyone is either in uniform or all dressed up with big hats! I feel like a real Londoner!!

Anyway, this past weekend was great. Mike and Lauren came back from Amsterdam and they had a great time. We went to a local farmers market, went to St. Paul's Cathedral, went to the Tate Modern, went to the British Museum. We all made Mexican one night which was really fun. We had tea both Saturday and Sunday which was really quite fun! I don't even like tea but it was such a British thing to do!

Most exciting news of the week as you know: I planned that surprise trip for Mat and I next weekend! It's going to be great. Dad already looked lots of stuff up for me on the Internet.

Not much else to report. I actually got out a couple days on-time which was really different. It's still daylight which is really nice! Hopefully I am done with my 50+ hour weeks.

To see pictures go to http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.1hltqn21&x=1&y=-6dr5ob

London Weekend Four / Mike and Lauren 1

Hey kids! How are you all doing? Things this week have been busy as usual. I thought there was a glimmer of hope that I might get out on time yesterday but it didn't happen and I worked till 9pm instead. Oh well.

This past weekend was alot of fun. Mike McAtee (from Lancaster and now lives in Chicago) and his girlfriend Lauren came in Thursday. We have gone out to eat alot which is a fun treat. But not when I looked at my bank statement. Our meal that I put on my debit card was £42 came out to be over $86 on my account. YIKES! I am still trying to get used to that.

Saturday we got going and when down to the Imperial War museum. Nice big museum that lots and lots of stuff. Almost all museums are free and you just have to pay to get into any special exhibitions they maybe having. So the war stuff was kinda boring but they had a 2 floor Holocaust exhibit that was pretty powerful. And then on the top floor there was a Crimes Against Humanity exhibit but we were too depressed from the Holocaust to go to that one. Maybe another day. So we had dinner and Mike/Lauren had tickets to a play. I went home, relaxed and watched the "tellie".

Sunday we got up a little earlier and went to Greenwich (pronounced Gren-itch). It was a cute cute little town right on the other side of the river. Sooooooo cute! It was like a little Cape Cod or something similar. We went to the Observatory, it's where the 0 degrees longitude and 0 degrees latitude meet. It was actually really good and very pretty. We then went to the Maritime museum which was possibly the worst museum ever. It was about ships and boats and nothing interesting. I discovered that I only found the ships that sink to be interesting. But anyway, cute town, would definitely go back. After Greenwich we went to Camden Market and Lauren bought a bunch of souvenirs.

So that was my weekend! Mike/Lauren left Monday to go to Amsterdam and will be back today. They are here all weekend so we will have fun times again I am sure.

On the family front: Chloe has been super super sick this week, puking 9 times at my parents house...Yucky! But she was feeling better yesterday. Kari and Jarrod are good and we booked our trip to Paris while they are here so that is exciting. Still trying to find someplace cool to go to when Mat comes in mid-April. Time is ticking and I really need to get going on it. I was thinking Prague because I have heard AMAZING things about it but it recently flooded and when I brought pictures in yesterday, it didn't look good! Oh well, I will find something.

To see pictures go to http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.7zobjach&x=1&y=-mrvm0

London Weekend Three

Well, I haven't written since my last weekend. Just wanted to let you all know that I survived :-) It's been so incredibly busy at work, I feel like I can't leave! But it's okay and I am dealing with it.

Friday I stayed at work late so I didn't feel much like going out. I went to the store, grabbed a bottle of wine and a frozen pizza (how cliché). Anyway, I stayed home and drank nearly the entire bottle while trying to figure out the darn stove. I don't get how they work. You would think it would be easy but there are lots of buttons and temperature gages. I gave up and stuck the pizza in the microwave.

Two most difficult appliances so far: Stove and washer/dryer.

They washer and dryer are the same unit. I was aware of how crappy they are but I didn't expect them to be this bad. It takes over and hour to wash and almost two hours to dry. And 99% of the time, your clothes are NOT dry! So what you end up doing is throwing some fabric softener in the washer and hang drying all your clothes. It BLOWS! I tried dryer sheets to no avail. Blast!

Saturday I showed two girls from the CNN Atlanta the London buro. They took pictures and I checked my email. So they were just sightseeing so I went with them. We went shopping down Oxford Street and I almost bought a pair of boots. Note: British sizes are 2 sizes off from American so I was a nice size 7...how wonderful! We went to Camden Market. NOT like I thought but still it was a sight to see. I felt like I walked into a 80's video. Lots of puck rockers wearing all the normal garb, grunge, goth, totally random. But we did find a nice clean Thai place so you know I was in heaven. Then we went to the British Museum to see the Rosetta Stone and then home. Saturday night we just went to dinner and that was it! Since all the pubs close at 11pm it's kind of a pain. You really have to go out early!

So this morning I got up early and moved all my stuff into my new place "home". It's a nice place and it was just cleaned so it looks all sparkly and clean. It's seriously double the size of Mat's condo so I will be able to hang all my clothes and it will be great!

Most exciting news of the week: Grey's Anatomy is coming to England! I can't wait! The commericals are so great and they will be starting from the beginning. They have a couple random shows from the US. Prison Break, American Idol, Law and Order, CSI and some others.

My friends Mike and Lauren are leaving Chicago tonight and arriving in London tomorrow morning. They are here for 10 days so that is going to be alot of fun.

To see pictures go to http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.b25zp8a9&x=1&y=2iy4v3

London Weekend One and Two

Hey people! Sorry it has taken me so long to write. It's been tough getting to a computer and getting logged in and such. Things are going well so far. I am learning the ropes of the job and meeting lots of new people. I am trying to remember all their names but hopefully I will figure it all out by next week. I have gone on meetings everyday this week so I am getting out of the buro on a daily basis so far. Just going for coffee or lunch. Today is another one which I am excited about. Kara is being really nice and walking me through everything. I will be on the computer more after she leaves on Friday.

The flight was AWESOME! Business class is really the way to go if you can afford a $4000 ticket! Haha! My seat laid completely flat and kinda turned into a bed. I was served 3 meals and I may have drank an entire bottle of wine myself!! It was really cool though and super nice. I watched Prime but fell asleep towards the end.

On the lame side: it was kinda like a movie when I had to leave Mat. I thought it would be alot easier than it ended up being. But I have talked to him everyday and he is really busy with the business and everything.

The city is really great. It's kinda like NYC which I really like. So I am walking to work everyday. It takes about an hour and 30 mins (if I don' get lots). So far, I have gotten lost everyday this week even though I have a map!! There is no direct way anywhere which is probably why everyone takes the tube. I take the tube home, cause it's dark by then, and I am in my flat in a little less than 30 mins. The tube is REALLY really easy and so quick. Much much easier than NYC.

Everyone has been really nice and helpful. There are always police everywhere and people cleaning the streets. They will always tell you where things are if you are lost. This weekend I am hoping to go out with a friend for St. Patty's day. Should be really interesting.

To see pictures of Weekend 1: http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.54wndes1&x=1&y=e4az3p

To see pictures of Weekend 2: http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=172lev31.banbq3v5&x=1&y=-vsu62a